Political Poster

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 18.33.38

We were given the task of quickly designing an A3 political poster inside the three hour session, and if we succeeded the poster was going to be submitted into a competition hosted by the guardian newspaper. Initially I thought I should do some research into the guardian itself, this was to give me some clue as to which party they were closer to. From my research I found that they were more supportive of Labour, so my poster was going to be anti-Conservative. I started planning for my design by finding out what negative outcomes there had been whilst the Conservatives were in, and discovered that the amount of people sleeping rough from the year 2010-14 had risen by 77%. This seemed like a good thing to highlight as the key point of my poster, but I still felt it would be more effective if there was an image of David Cameron as the centrepiece.

I found a very useful photo of the Prime Minister looking quite unconcerned about the whole issue. This was something which made the poster, in my opinion, as it says what many people think about the Conservatives. They are often perceived as very apathetic to the poorest people in our country, and more concerned about how they can help the rich get richer. I think that this a successful poster because the message is communicated easily, and also the use of imagery fits in perfectly with the content of the type. However if I could change anything about the poster I would have put the factual text on the top left in a Z format, so that you’re eye follows it more naturally.

Leave a comment